My Case for Mitt Romney (Commentary)

By Meaghan Pedati ‘14

On the eve of the presidential election it’s unlikely I’ll convince undecided voters or liberals to support Mitt Romney. I could recite the statistics we’ve all heard ad nauseam, but as budding lawyers we know how easily facts can be manipulated. So rather than try to convince anyone, I’ll explain how my support for Romney has evolved, and why I believe he will be a great president.

Mitt Romney wasn’t my first choice as the Republican candidate. Like many conservatives, Romney’s robotic mannerisms and responses gave me pause. But after he won the nomination I decided to give him a second chance. I soon realized I don’t need my president to be charismatic, charming or even personable. I just need him to be a leader. In fact, I want a president who is going to be mechanical in his decision-making, someone whose policies are precisely calculated.

President Obama boasts undeniable charisma and character, and I wish I were half as eloquent at public speaking as he is. But charisma and soaring rhetoric haven’t gotten us very far as a nation. It’s time to hand the reins to someone with an extensive business background who cares less about being charming and more about being successful. We need somebody who will run the country like an efficient business.

Mitt Romney is that guy.

Romney’s selection of Paul Ryan as his running mate made the Republican ticket much easier to support. Ryan is articulate, focused and understands the economy. Whether or not you agree with his plan for recovery, you must admit Ryan has presented a plan that would work. And for those who don’t agree with the specifics, fear not: The Romney-Ryan record of bipartisanship shows they understand how a democratic system functions best.

As governor of Massachusetts, Romney exhibited the leadership skills necessary to work with Democrats to pass legislation. Similarly, as chairman of the House Budget Committee, Ryan has worked tirelessly with Democrats on budget reform.

In addition to his bipartisan ethos, I admire Ryan’s dedication to constituents in his home state of Wisconsin. Instead of owning a home in D.C., Ryan sleeps on a cot in his office. When the House isn’t in session, he immediately returns home. Splitting time between his Wisconsin community and job in D.C. tells me Ryan is committed to doing what’s best for the people he represents. What more could we ask for from a vice president?

In the meantime, signs of Obama’s failure as a leader abound. Why is gas almost $4.00 a gallon? Why is unemployment worse now than when Obama took office? How are we going to balance the budget? We’ve tried liberal policies and they just haven’t worked. I am not alone in my unhappiness. The midterm elections, the unprecedented rise of the Tea Party, the confirmation of conservative Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker, are evidence of widespread disappointment with President Obama on a national scale.

Obama continues to blame the past president, the past economic downturn and past Republican legislation for today’s economic crisis. But I am not interested in blaming George W. Bush, Obama or the legislature. Now is the time to forget the past and focus on our future. Given his proven record of bipartisanship and business skills which can get our economy thriving again, I am confident we will have a more successful future by voting for Mitt Romney and leaving Obama in the past.

(Meaghan Pedati is president of the Republican National Lawyers Association at CUA Law)

4 comments

  1. You make very good points except I don’t think that there is really any undecided voters left, even in the moderate group. I infact think most people knew exactly who they were going to vote for once the GOP ticket was concrete. I, as you said did not have Romney as my first choice but I now think he was the best choice. You can read more of my thoughts on this at http://www.conservativeintellect.com I actually just did a post on this very subject.

  2. I also enjoyed reading your arguments in favor of Romney, But I too believe they are too late to make a difference. I do have some differences to point out. No US President has control over the price of gas. Ask one of your MBA pals in school why. It’s set by the suppliers of the world’s petroleum, and that’s not us. My biggest problem with Romney is he kept changing his positions during the campaign, so I don’t really know which Romney I would get if I voted for him. Obama may be quite disappointing, but at least he comes across as authentic and honest. Now Ryan, to me he’s just plain nuts. How can anyone who has lived on the same street his entire life expect to understand the world? He thinks Ayn Rand is somehow a giant of philosophy! Obama’s going to win his home state! But we vote for the top of the ticket, not the #2 guy..

  3. Simply stated, this post lacks content and is just another flag waving political advertisement. “vote for my guy cus the last guy stinks” type of stuff. Would have preferred some actual statistics and analysis from the future lawyers of america.

  4. Anonymous · · Reply

    i think you’d see more analysis if the future lawyers of america weren’t up to their necks in school work. just a thought!

    i’m more concerned with the fact that half of this article is an apology for romney’s robotic and non-presidential character. his own people doubt him as a leader. that’s because he doesn’t lead.

    one good thing about their ticket is that if air force 1 breaks, paul ryan can run across the country in 2 hours flat.

Leave a Reply

